• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

building without a permit

cdstudio

Not sure where to start with this. I am an Architect and a building being built next to me has what I consider some major building code violations and I am not sure what I can do about it.

To give some background, the project is on a standard 25x100 lot in a historic district and is in Flood Zone AE. There was an existing 2-story warehouse with 99% coverage on the lot. The building was gutted, new services brought in and an additional 2 stories were added above the existing structure to convert it to a new 4-unit residential building. The project got planning board approval, but the building department says they did not review the project because of a conflict of interest, so the construction official passed to a neighboring municipality. I have requested permit and inspection records from both Cities (via OPRA) weeks ago, but I have not received any information from either one to date. Unfortunately there are some politics involved.

My concerns about the project are:

1) The 2nd means of egress from the upper floors is via ladders (drop down and attached) to a landing that gets to grade via a 22" fire escape stair. This is not allowed in new construction, correct?