• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Ab 407

pwood

Platinum Member
this new law takes effect in California on Jan.1. It will require all pre 1994 homes in California to upgrade plumbing fixtures to current water saving standards when a building permit is issued for any additions or alterations. Looks like i made the big time I am now a crapper cop.:-oDo you suppose that more work without permits will happen? This law stinks!

Is that to include faucets, toilets, shower heads? I would imagine the permit fee's will increase due to the extra time required.

I suppose next year a kitchen renovation will require an updated energy efficient HVAC system.

[h=6]1101.4.[/h] (a) On and after January 1, 2014, for all building alterations or improvements to single-family residential real property, as a condition for issuance of a certificate of final completion and occupancy or final permit approval by the local building department, the permit applicant shall replace all noncompliant plumbing fixtures with water-conserving plumbing fixtures.

(b) On or before January 1, 2017, noncompliant plumbing fixtures in any single-family residential real property shall be replaced by the property owner with water-conserving plumbing fixtures.

© On and after January 1, 2017, a seller or transferor of single-family residential real property shall disclose in writing to the prospective purchaser or transferee the requirements of subdivision (b) and whether the real property includes any noncompliant plumbing fixtures.