• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Allowable area

Sifu

SAWHORSE
I have a 4 story, VA, separated mixed use (R1, A3, A2, B, S1) building with an NFPA 13 system. The aggregate sum of the allowable areas exceeds 3. They are allowed to not exceed 4 if separated and an NFPA 13R system is installed. Why is the threshold higher for a 13R system? It seems counter-intuitive, but I am not a sprinkler expert.

It is not really. Since building area increases are not permitted when using an NFPA 13R system, you are allowed an extra story since the 13R sprinkler system is permitted for predominately residential buildings up to four stories.

4 stories, each at 28,000sf² to 30,000sf², total of 115,859sf². The allowable areas come up to 3.19, which exceeds the allowable of 3 per 506.2.4. Still confused, the exception says, if I read the code correctly, they wouldn't be allowed to exceed 3 because they have a 13 system instead of a 13R system? I am using the 2018 codes.

4 stories, each at 28,000sf² to 30,000sf², total of 115,859sf². The allowable areas come up to 3.19, which exceeds the allowable of 3 per 506.2.4. Still confused, the exception says, if I read the code correctly, they wouldn't be allowed to exceed 3 because they have a 13 system instead of a 13R system? I am using the 2018 codes.
I assume this is a hotel and all the other occupancy groups are associated with that primary use, which would allow you to use an NFPA 13R system.