• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Architect Trying to Transition to Plan Check Engineer

Archibell

Hello,

I am a licensed architect with 9 years of progressive architectural production, construction and project management experience.

The long hours and endless coordination required in traditional architectural practice really wore me out.

I am trying to see if transition to plan check engineering for a city municipal is something I can do.

Any one else made this transition? How did you do it?

For those in the field - what are the pros and cons?

Well I am not at your level

Good somewhat set hours

Bad you have to work for the government, get paid what they decide, have to deal with that side of politics.

Your background will help.

How well do you know different code books,
Building, mechanical, plumbing, electrical, others ????

Reactions: JBI
Well I am not at your level

Good somewhat set hours

Bad you have to work for the government, get paid what they decide, have to deal with that side of politics.

Your background will help.

How well do you know different code books,
Building, mechanical, plumbing, electrical, others ????

Hi cda! Thank you for the quick reply!

I know Part 2 Vol 1 - California Building Code and access requirements like the back of my hand.
I know how to do plumbing count calcs based off Part 5 - California Plumbing Code and I am familiar with Part 11 - California Green Building Standards Code.