• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Be careful out there !! OSHA Investigating

I herd once that as an inspector I can be sued if I if I was at a job where they were not obeying OSHA requirements and someone got hurt. Did this ever happen?

It depends who you are working for, jurisdiction or are you an independent? If independent check with your E & O carrier.

had a real chuckle yesterday when i saw that a young apprentice electrician (country boy) had used self tapping screws to mount his headlamp to his hardhat. I asked the young guy if he had ever had anything hit his hard hat. He said yes he had thought about that and so he had shaved off the tapping part but I could still see about a 1/4 of the screw through the hat. I stood by while his boss instructed him that an OSHA inspector would not like that. BTW hard hats have expiration dates and warning labels inside. Poor guy we really need those headlamps here in the dark of Alaska.

So the interesting thing about inspecting is that after you have been doing it for many years you get real tuned into looking at things

expiration dates! ouch! Had a great old miners hardhat (the kind where you can see the weave) told about expiration dates and it has become a wall decor.