• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

brick and block foundation

buck33k

I am an electrician by trade. I am having a house built and I am concerned about the foundation. It started well with block on the footing but soon 1/2 bricks were used as seen in the photos. I hope the photos load. It is a raised slab using 9 rows of brick supported on the bottom row outside by half bricks with the brick holes running horizontally. Attached are 2 photos. Does this seem proper and strong? I was told the bricks are stronger with the holes running vertically, which these are not. Does it matter in this case? Any comments would be appreciated. Thank you. Buck
https://www.flickr.com/photos/11316822@N06/28664628615/in/dateposted-public/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/11316822@N06/28047331364/in/dateposted-public/

Last edited:
Welcome

I cannot get the pictures to show and not
A building type person

Anyway

Any plans on how the foundation is supposed to be built?

Is it built like the plan?!

Do you live where a building inspector will look at it??

You can have a structural engineer look at the entire thing and advise you

I am sorry the photos will not load. I have them on Flckr and tried to copy the address without success. A building inspector did sign off on the foundation but I for some reason question it. I will keep trying on the photos. Thank you.

If you are a paying member you can upload from almost anything

You can call the inspector and ask him nicely to come back and look at your concerns

Any plans??