• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Building Inspector Exam Westchester county, NY

Bibbin

Hi All,

I have registered to take the asst. building inspector exam in weschester county, NY in the month of September. I have no prior experience in code enforcement, building inspection or in construction. I qualify for the exam so i figured i would take it thinking what do i have to lose? With most civil service exam, there usually is some study material attached to it given by the state but this exam does not have any material. I was wondering if anyone can recommend what the best study material is for this exam?

The topics the exam is going to be on are

SUBJECT OF EXAMINATION

WRITTEN TEST is designed to test for knowledge, skills, and/or abilities in such areas as:

1. Inspection procedures and principles - These questions test for knowledge of the appropriate practices and methods to use when inspecting various types of building facilities and projects, including proper adherence to plans and codes, dealing with residents, owners and contractors, and inspection record keeping.

2. Building construction and rehabilitation - These questions test for knowledge of the various methods and materials used when constructing or renovating various types of buildings and their components.