• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Change of use Fire Sprinkler requirement?

Jay E.

Hello. I am a newbie and have been tossed a curve that I cannot figure out.
I am restoring a former commercial sawmill building that was closed in 1973. It is 24000 sq ft single story. It has no sprinklers. Its use has been classified as F1, low hazard factory, and it will be only used for storage and display of the old sawmill equipment. Construction is V-B There is no public use.
In one corner of it (2 exterior walls) I was hoping to put a residence of 1500 sq ft R3. There are multiple egress points along all the walls, in the worst case from the farthest room, to the farthest egress, it is 60'. The planning department has approved the use and so we went to building. Unfortunately the building officials have insisted that I sprinkle the entire 24000 sq ft with a commercial sprinkler system because of the change of use!
This is what they sited, saying it says "Shall":

[F] 903.2.8 Group R

An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with Section 903.3 shall be provided throughout all buildings with a Group R fire area.

[F] 903.2.8.1 Group R-3

An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with Section 903.3.1.3 shall be permitted in Group R-3 occupancies.

[F] 903.2.8.2 Group R-4, Condition 1

An automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with Section 903.3.1.3 shall be permitted in Group R-4, Condition 1 occupancies.

[F] 903.2.8.3 Group R-4, Condition 2