• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Chicago Building Code Exemptions

Bigjimmy

Hi there-

New guy in the house. I am an electrical engineer that specializes in the design and installation of signal and train control systems. I worked for the Chicago Transit Authority for many years in their signal/TC department and now work as a consulting engineer for a company that provides design services to the CTA.

The NEC lists a number of excluded types of construction among which are the facilities associated with train control or signal houses. We are designing some new equipment houses for the CTA and recently a coworker suggested that our designs would need to comply with the City of Chicago Building Codes.

These facilities are nothing more than electrical equipment houses, typically pre-fabricated, with no water/sewer connections and limited mechanical heating/cooling systems. They are largely uninhabited (except for intermittent occupation during maintenance functions or for emergencies) and are not accessible.

I have personally supervised the installation and commissioning of upwards of 50-60 houses on the CTA's property. In not one instance did I ever see any sort of city inspector and as far as I know, the installation contractors did not obtain permits for installation of the houses (except where things like closures of expressways or city streets were required) and no certificates of occupancy were ever issued.