• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Consultant asked me if a fire rated floor assembly is required. How do I determine if it is required or not?

peri_5xg

I am an architect in training at the moment. We are working on a three story building, and the structural consultant asked if we require a fire-rated floor assembly for the building. She thinks that a 1-Hr rating would be required but I am not sure. What would the information be that I would require to answer this question? The building is wood frame exterior walls with light gauge metal frame bearing walls on continuous footings. The building is sprinklered with two means of egress and the occupancy is 270 total. 12300 SF total building area. I want to understand the way in which I determine this. My guess is that this is a Type V-B building, based on those parameters but I am not sure. Thank you for your help.

Section 508 of the IBC addresses separated mixed uses and non-separated mixed uses. Since your building is primarily a "B" occupancy with accessory "A" uses and sprinkled, there probably is not a requirement for a fire rated floor ceiling assembly. However, you need to check with your state and/or local codes for any amendments.
As an AIT, I commend you for finding this site and asking questions. Learning how to use and navigate the codes will enable you to provide the professionalism your future clients/employer will notice and appreciate.