• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Definition of Attached vs Detached Garage

Norm

My neighbour is proposing to build an "attached" garage. I believe it to be "detached", which would require a greater setback from my house and driveway. I have no building experience, but I do believe that the definitions in our town laws are not ambiguous. That said I would appreciate your professional opinion on this issue.

Our town bylaw defines "attached" as a building or structure otherwise complete in itself, which depends for structural support or complete enclosure, upon a division wall or walls shared in common with an adjacent building or structure.

The bylaw defines "detached" as a building or structure which is physically separated and not dependent on any other building or structure for structural support or enclosure.

The sketch associated with the proposed "attached" garage shows a building set 5' back from the rear wall of the house connected to the house via a breezeway, which my neighbour explained to be a narrow passageway, enclosed on both sides with a roof. The 16' garage wall closest to the house will have 11' across the driveway plus an additional 5' behind the house. The peak roof on the garage runs in the same direction as the peak roof on the house, so that the eaves of the house and the eaves of the garage will be about 4' apart. That 5' by 5' area between the house and the garage will be the breezeway area.