• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Demanding fire chief with no authority

Mr. Inspector

SAWHORSE
I'm an inspector in PA. PA doesn't use the IFC except when the IBC sends you there. An example would be high-piled combustible storage. A local jurisdiction can adopt the IFC and can also add stricter requirements to the codes if approved by the state.

I am currently inspecting a 1.3 million sq ft warehouse that only needs final inspections. The fire sprinkler company uses 2-1/2" hose connectors for drains where the fire main comes in the building from underground lines. There are barriers in front of these mains for protection. The fire chief of the local volunteer fire company came to look at the building and said this made these fire hose connectors inaccessible for the fire company and the barriers will need to be modified. Also The fire chief demanded that the they need to add a 2-1/2" fire hose connections (standpipes) every 200" down the middle of the building. He demanded a few other things that are not in the IBC or any NFPA codes. I did not say anything when the fire chief was here.

The fire chief has no authority or any certifications.The township did not adopt the IFC or add anything else to the codes. Fire hose connectors (standpipes) are not required inside a one story building. None of the things the fire chief is demanding are on the approved plans or in any codes.

Just wondering if anyone else had a problem like this?