• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Designer of plans that seeks a license

tmtpermits

I have researched everywhere and my question still remains...I am a designer of the plans (not an archtect or an engineer) and I do not see where I can obtain a license that seems to come up at the building department. I do plans for 2 contractors to install industrial equipment such as spray booths. Please advise where I can obtain such a license. I'm at a loss.

Check with jurisdictions in your area

To me a booth is a piece of equipment

So if all you are doing is installing than maybe a contractors license or similar?

& = & = &

"Check with jurisdictions in your areaTo me a booth is a piece of equipment

So if all you are doing is installing than maybe a contractors license or similar?"
If the project site is located in a Seismically active area, then an SE would be required,...equipment or other structure.

& = & = &

The only way to obtain a license is to follow the California licensing laws - obtain your degree (or work under a licensed professional for the prescribed time), apply to take the exams, pass the exams, and receive your license. There is no easy way to do it - and rightfully so as architects and engineers are responsible for the life and safety of those who will occupy and use the buildings/spaces we design.

You see one piece of equipment being installed but there are more pieces to this puzzle. So while you may be qualified to install the equipment, another licensed professional is required for these other pieces.