• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Escape Windows and Ladders, 3 questions

Jonathan Shoemaker

I am remodeling a 2 story 4 unit duplex. I am gutting the entire thing and going back new with everything. I am new to the building code book, normally I just build and go, so I am asking a lot of questions so I pass inspections. I have read the building code the best I can and have come up with my ideas, but I need to bounce my understanding off any who will listen. The city's building inspector is less than informative in my building code questions and his knowledge base may be questionable. I am using the 2015 International Bulidng Code book, chapter 1030, and my city has no local amendments.

Questions One: My plan is to have vertical escape ladder for the two top floors units. I have commonly seen these made out of pipe or sometimes rebarb. I have read the spacing, width, and other requirements. I don't see any requirement to be able to crawl out onto a porch or balcony and then onto the ladder. I don't see any requirements of the ladder in relation to the window ( below or beside ) or that it even needs a balcony to crawl out on first before decending the ladder. Am I missing something? It seems too easy.