• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Fire code for hallways

Law Dawg 34

We are constructing a gymnasium at our church in Virginia. I’m new to the construction scene and need an answer to probably a simple question.

On an exit hallway, do one or both sides of the hallway need 5/8 drywall going all the way up?

I’ve had some contractors tell me just one side has to go all the way up and some on both sides of the wall. I asked one inspector and they said just the inside wall of the hallway.
I don’t want to put up drop ceiling just for the Fire Marshall to tell me different, that would be a nightmare. The first floor goes up to 10 feet. The second floor goes up 21 feet.
Any advise would help. Thank you so much!

First you need to know what fire rating the hallway is required to have. That should be called out on the permitted plans. Then you can go to usg.com where they have excellent details for all types of sheetrock construction.

Where does the “hallway” come from and go to???

Will the building have a fire sprinkler system??

As stated the plans should indicate if the hallway/ corridor is rated!!

If it is rated both sides

if not one side, plus you can use the cheap stuff.

Normally on a corridor sheetrock goes up and meets the ceiling sheetrock, going horizontal.
Plus Type X sheetrock normally 5/8 inch

cd ... why did you infer he is a pastor? He could be the head of the building committee.
Law ... curious where in Va you are, and what your role is. And do you have plans created by an architect?