• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Fire Inspector I exam

EricWatkins

It lists the IFC and IBC as references, but because they have redundant information, at least some parts are duplicates, I am wondering if I really need both? I am studying the IFC, but have access to the IBC. Does anyone know if there are questions on the exam which are specific to only the IBC?

Yes you will need both. I just asked my new guy and he did not have the IBC when he took the Fire Inspector I (in August 2021) exam but he did say there where about six questions that the answers where not in the Fire Code. I asked him if he remembered what the questions pertained and he said types of construction and height and area.
FWIW when you pass the Fire Inspector I continue on and take Fire Inspector II and look into the commercial building inspector exam. You are already into the code books and study discipline just keep going and knock out those 3 since over 50% of the test you already know. It is a whole lot easier than waiting a few years and starting all over again.

Yes you will need both. I just asked my new guy and he did not have the IBC when he took the Fire Inspector I (in August 2021) exam but he did say there where about six questions that the answers where not in the Fire Code. I asked him if he remembered what the questions pertained and he said types of construction and height and area.