• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Furnace plugged into the wall

DMartin

Good day,
I have a commercial building I looked at today where they had attached a plug to the furnace and plugged it into a receptacle. It doesn't seem safe and I have told him I cannot accept it. Not being a licensed electrician myself he argues he has done this before. New to inspections and do not want to incur undue costs. Is this allowed? I am still learning to read the NEC if someone could help me out with the citation so I can enforce this it would be much appreciated. For one the appliance is more that 100" from the breaker box and not in clear sight I do not see how a plug can be sufficient for a cutoff. they want to use this in lou of a cutoff switch. I am looking at Article 422 but I do not see anything except for that 422.12 states it must be connected by individual branch circuit. But if the receptacle is on its own circuit?

Did some digging and I looks like the only appliances allowed to use a flexible cords are stated in 422.16 and well a furnace is not included in that list. I have read several forums where they state this is a norm. Kind of Crazy. does anyone else run into this and do you allow the practice?

If a commercial bldg. I assume the furnace to be rather large as in requiring greater than 110v?

Article 100: Disconnecting Means. A device, or group of devices, or other means by which the conductors of a circuit can be disconnected from their source of supply.

A receptacle is a device that disconnects the source of supply.