• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Garage Door, Man Door, and Window Header

mauromj

I am constructing my first building (40x60 shop, 2x6 construction, 16" OC). Since I am new to this, I have questions on load bearing headers (on the eave end of trusses).
I live in Washington State. Everything I can find, states a minimum of 2 trimmer (jack) studs per header end, a header that is at least 9" longer then your opening.

I have drawn up the following front wall. Can anyone help confirm is these headers/framing methods meet WA code? I will be framing this myself and do not want to run into any major issues when it comes time to sign off.

You may need to rotate/zoom...

IMG_3772.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi mauromj,
welcome to the forum
I do not have the answer for Washington, but will attempt an answer from the minimum British Columbia code requirements. 1654352678218.png
looking forward to seeing the other answers.

Where I worked there was a requirement to double the king studs on any opening over six feet. As a practical matter I always doubled the king studs on any heavy man door. Of course you are framing with 2"X6" studs but force of habit and all. What seismic zone are you in?

I took the liberty of adding the drawing to your post.

Last edited:
Where I worked there was a requirement to double the king studs on any opening over six feet. As a practical matter I always doubled the king studs on any heavy man door. Of course you are framing with 2"X6" studs but force of habit and all. What seismic zone are you in?