• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

General and professional liability insurance

Sifu

SAWHORSE
Poll-for those who do private plan review for yourselves:

As a private entity, not an LLC or incorporated entity, when providing a plan review in a consulting capacity, no stamps or approvals, just providing observations to the building official for his review for him to approve or deny, do you carry general liability or professional liability insurance?

Depends, as a licensed architect I carry both and require a disclaimer of use of my opinion from the official.

If I were providing a design, or "stamping" them or otherwise approving them I would think it necessary. I am nether approving nor disapproving, just pointing out where the design might deviate from code. Just doing a review for code compliance to be used by the AHJ at his discretion I don't think I need it. I carried it as a GC many moons ago, but that is a totally different animal. I am just no sure any liability or E & O insurance is needed. The closest category for policy needs is architectural services, which is way beyond what I provide.

Poll-for those who do private plan review for yourselves:

As a private entity, not an LLC or incorporated entity, when providing a plan review in a consulting capacity, no stamps or approvals, just providing observations to the building official for his review for him to approve or deny, do you carry general liability or professional liability insurance?