• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

I might as well have an Intro thread...

JCraver

Sawhorse
Hello all.

I'm a recently-hired Building Inspector/Code Enforcement/Zoning Enforcement Officer from a small city in Southern Illinois. I was casually browsing the web for like-employed folks, and found you all. Been lurking for a couple weeks and have put some info. I've gained from past threads here to use, so thought I'd introduce myself and say Thanks.

My background is in the trades; I was a GC for several years, and worked a number of jobs in various disciplines before that. It's a bit, um, different, on this side of the desk, but I'm getting used to it (I think!).

We're a small municipality, ~7000 residents, and just recently adopted the '09 I-codes (sans residential sprinklers). A requirement of my employment was that I complete a bunch of the ICC certs., so if none of you mind I'm sure there will be many, many questions in that regard from me in the future... I've passed the Permit Tech., Prop. Maint., and Legal module so far - working on Technology now. My city is paying for the tests and all my study materials, so I guess as long as I keep passing tests I'll keep taking them.

Anyway, just wanted to say Hi, and Thanks. Seems to be a bunch of knowledge here - hopefully I can someday add to it.

You came to the right place - this is it, this is the swinginest Codes Forum on the net...

Welcome

""Been lurking for a couple weeks and have put some info. I've gained from past threads here to use""

Boy are you trusting