• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

ICC-ES Won't Protect The Public Why Do They Refuse to Address Their Westcoat Problem?

Bill Leys

San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Hello To All;

My name is Bill Leys. I am a contractor and consultant (yeah yeah) focusing on the installation of Division 7 Traffic Coatings.

You can look up all the claims, complaints and info below at http://deckexpert.com/westcoat-maintenance.html

Please read all about me at my site and decide if I'm legit in my claims...please!

Over the last few years I have been complaining to ICC-ES regarding a product called ALX Deck Coating. It's made by Westcoat Specialty Coating Systems.

They have an ICC-ES report #2201, that says its a Class A E-108 rated roof assembly when installed...as per mfg instructions...

Westcoat's ICC report http://www.icc-es.org/reports/index.cfm?csi_num=07%2018%2013&view_details does not have it listed as a One Hour E-119.

On a number of different pieces of media-brochures, websites, technical bulletins, CSI Specs, Sweets Catalog etc, Westcoat has used their ICC-ES number along with statements saying One Hour/E-119.

Here's the link to their listing at Sweets, note the ICC report number and the one Hour claim.

http://products.construction.com/Manufacturer/Westcoat-Specialty-Coating-Systems-NST151629/products/Waterproof-Products-NST34323-p