• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Looking to start career in building inspection, which ICC cert should I get first?

T.O.

I am looking to start a career in building inspection and am wondering which ICC certification would be best to try for first to make me more employable. I have a bachelor's degree in Landscape Design and decided it isn't for me. I have completed course work in Construction Engineering and Architecture and I have a couple years of field work in general construction and excavation. I know by obtaining an ICC cert, it would help my chances of getting an interview/job? I have been studying the Commercial Building Code, figuring that may be a good one to get first?

Thanks for any advice/input.

+ + +

T.O.,

Welcome to The Building Codes Forum! :cool:

Which market segment are you looking to get in to,

...Commercial or Residential or Industrial?

If Commercial, ...then the Commercial Building Inspector is the

1st one of choice.........If Residential, ...then the Residential Building

Inspector would be an excellent 1st choice......If Industrial, ...then

the Commercial Building Inspector would be a good 1st choice as

well......Mind you, ...starting with one is only the first step in a long

journey.......Get as many certifications and as much training as you

can stand......Lot's of opportunities out there!

Also, ...welcome to the Building Codes career field......This is

The Dark Side!.....Muuuuuuuwwwwwhhhhhaaaa haaaaaaa! :devil

FWIW, ...I hope that you have a thick skin and are not easily

rattled!

% % %