• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

occupancy calc indoor offleash dog bar

padair

Hi, I'm new to the thread so hopefully I'm doing this right.

I'm currently helping a friend evaluate a space for a potential off-leash dog bar. I'm doing some code homework to check for any unforeseen expenses. ie. adding a sprinkler system.

Current situation:
2,000 sf CMU buildings, former convenient store, one story, proper exits

Future situation:
off-leash dog zone separated by gate (access to off-leash would require certain papers or membership)
leash zone (area for people to hang with their dogs without membership)
bar would span both sides of gate for service

Is it a stretch to consider the off-leash dog area an exhibition hall and count it as less occupancy since it will be designed as a dedicated area for dogs to play? There will be some seating in this area for owners to be closer to their dog.

Quick math as part exhibition hall and part bar is what I calculated below, but maybe there's an alternative such as counting seats? This is my first time researching code on bars and restaurants.

1500(off-leash) and 500 (on-leash). I get 1500/30 = 50 occupants for off-leash and 500/15 = 33 which puts me at 88 occupants total.

What is everyone's opinion on the occupancy load for an area that is primarily for dogs with a few seats at the perimeter of the space? There area a few of these dog bars popping up around the states, they all seem to be fairly large spaces and from the looks of this image below I don't see any sprinklers.