• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Permit required?

Rick Savala

Good morning. I am a mechanical inspector in VA. Recently a question has come up regarding necessity for a permit. The contractor is replacing an oil furnace with an air handler. Same location, existing duct system. We require permits to change out gas/oil equipment like for like, but do not require a permit to remove a furnace to put in an air handler. Just curious to see how this situation is handled in other places. Thanks.

Welcome,,

How did you find our humble forum??

Give it a day or two for replies

I am thinking most cities would require a permit, electrical,, and maybe other involved in the change,

Plus it would kick in an inspection requirement.

Define air handler?
I assume the "air handler" produces heat to replace the loss of heat from removing the furnace.
Is it fuel by gas or electric. Do you need to run new gas and vents or a new branch circuit for the electric strip heater?

A permit would be required here in Montana and we will combine the electrical into the mechanical permit to keep the fees down provided it is a licensed electrical contractor subbing to the mechanical contractor doing the work.

Here we go with "regional" semantics again, as above please define air handler?
Also, where is it located: basement, garage, closet, attic?