• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Verifying Spans of Engineered wood products

code_name_ronnie

Hello all, first time poster, long time lurker. I am a plans examiner/former inspector for local AHJ.

I'm curious how everyone deals with sizing LVL and I Joists etc for residential applications when a designer is not part of the project. How does a code official, builder or homeowner know for certain that an LVL will span what they need it to span? Structural Engineer sealed letter/plans seems the most logical, but that can impose undue burdens and costs to projects that should be 'simple' such as gable or shed roofs over patios, etc....

Looking forward to your thoughts.

It is right on the title of this thread......."engineered wood products".

The engineering is done, use the tables they provide, and you are good.

JMHO

After you find the LVL in the table, verify the fastening information, I'm finding the nailing patterns are not being used in the field.

It would be nice to see that tid bit of information on the plans if an LVL is specified.

After you find the LVL in the table, verify the fastening information, I'm finding the nailing patterns are not being used in the field.

It would be nice to see that tid bit of information on the plans if an LVL is specified.
I make people add these requirements as well as bearing requirements, cutting, notching and boring, etc etc. Its all in there with the tables. Just have to go look for it.

I recently saw ledgerLoc's being used so I know they didn't have the required fastener info at the site.