• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

washer/dryer

rktect 1

Gold Member
Using the 2006 Fuel Gas code for a new addition/remodel.

I have a master bedroom about 16'x16' with a room labeled "closet" The closet is about 5.5'x5.5' with a note for 1 rod and 1 shelf on two walls. In the corner is a stacked washer/dryer. On the mech plans it is listed as a gas dryer.

Is this dryer an "appliance" as defined in the fuel gas code? Should this washer/dryer not be allowed per 303.3 for appliance location? Chapter 15 of the 2006 IRC is silent on locations that are permitted for dryers.

Any other thoughts?

I would not consider it an "appliance" per the 2006 IFGC.

Sure it creates heat, but there is no "flue gas" per se. I think the intent is to prevent CO from affecting sleeping residents. To the best of my knowledge, gas dryer CO emmision is not a concern.

mj

rktect 1,

I looked at one (stackable washer / dryer) manufacturer' web site concerning

installation procedures. They DID say that this type of appliance COULD be

installed in a closet, but that the room/space had to provide enough

combustion air & that it DID have to be vented to the exterior of the

structure in an approved manner.

FWIW, GE was the manufacturer that I looked at!

Clothes dryers and their ducting are addressed in chapter 6 (secitons 613 &614) of the IFGC. The title of the chapter is "Specific Appliances", so yes I would say the IFGC considers clothes dryers as appliances

I would also consider this an appliance. See 2006 IRC G2406.2 and G2439.4.