• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Yet Another Pier/Beam Related Foundation Question

MtnDon

Background: As I mentioned in my intro post just now, I am an administrator on a DIY owner-builder cabin building forum. I don't own the site; I just hang out there too much. :D I am not a professional builder or inspector but do have some knowledge as to what codes state about various things. I've referenced the IRC a lot and I read the footnotes, too.

I know that the IRC does not list pier & beam as a prescribed/approved foundation. That however has little to no effect on many of the DIY owner-builders that frequent our forum. At times I get so frustrated :banghd trying to convince someone that there is good reason to have building codes and good reason to use them as directions on the better way, the proper way, to build things. All the more so when they show up showing off their project sitting on 4x4 posts with at least one side 5, 6 feet and more above grade. :eek:

Anyone have some good arguments to be used for those DIY owner-builders who happen to find themselves in an area where codes are not enforced or those who just plain don't give a darn?

I have to plead guilty to having built a 16x30 cabin on ten 6x6 PT piers myself. That was before I knew better. In my defense let me add that I did use foundation grade 6x6, they are 44 to 46 inches in the ground, on poured in place concrete footers, have rebar, and only protrude 12 1/2 to 13 inches above grade.

Thanks to all who may have any thoughts/ideas.