• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

2001 California Building Code Title 24, Part 2, Volume 2, Paragraph 1806.8.2.1 etal.

KRB

Hello,
I’m new to this forum. Please allow me briefly introduce myself. I’m a retired mechanical engineer with a strong DIY skill set for home projects. 20 years ago, after a long search, I landed on the 2001 California Building Code Title 24, Part 2, Volume 2, Paragraph 1806.8.2.1 etal. I was looking for guidance on a pole I was setting. I was thrilled to finally have an equation to derive the footing depth. Over the years, I’ve worked with the equations therein but recently realized I don’t understand how to apply a particular statement in the associated Table 18-I-A (page: 2-50). The Lateral Bearing of Depth Below Grade column in this table cites Footnote 3. The first sentence in that footnote states:
“May be increased the amount of the designated value for each additional foot (305 mm) of depth to a maximum of 15 times the designated value.” In addition to what? I’m unclear about the authors intentions of how to fold that statement into the depth calculations in equations 6-1 (S1) and 6-2 (S2).

I realize this is old, obscure, there are newer versions of the CBC, and other perhaps more complete treatments of this subject. Of note, I’ve found this exact same statement in the 2022 CBC version, Paragraph 1806.3.3. So I would like to understand how to include this statement in my calculations. I would appreciate any and all help.

Thank you,
KRB

The starting point is the full section. From the IBC 2021: