• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

906.1, Removal

Inspector 102

Silver Member
A industrial building was converted to a clubhouse for mentally challenged people. All the renovations were approved but 6 years later, the state fire inspector came in and said they needed to remove the sprinkler piping since it was not longer being used. As a local inspector I agreed with him and said to take the heads off the pipe and remove the riser assembly (which had been out of service the whole time) and they would be okay. The State Inspector said "no" he wants all the piping removed. My arguement is that the piping, without heads or water supply does not constitute a fire suppression system and therefore 906.1 (2006 IFC) is no longer applicable. Any comments or views on this situation?

Re: 906.1, Removal

How badly do you need to get along with the state fire inspector?

We are normally friends and he knows that I like to argue. This comes down to a common sense application of the code. We disagree on the extent of removal required and I am looking for other thoughts regarding the piping remaining in the structure. I am sure at the end of all this we will still be able to have a cold one together.

To me what you did would be fine since the adverage Joe doesn't know the difference between sprinkler piping, iron gas piping, and galvanized water pipe. They do however know what a riser and head looks like. Check the commentary and you should have an appeals process you could use.