• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

ADAAG vs. ANSI A117.1 for multi-family...

vegas paul

Silver Member
I'm new to ADAAG, relatively speaking. I recently moved from a jurisdiction that used IBC Ch. 11 and ANSI A117.1 for accessibility, to a jurisdiction where STATE law mandates that ADAAG is used fo accessibility. Consequently, Ch. 11 is deleted, and ADAAG is adopted.

No big deal in most respects, but...

What about multi-family? I can't see anything in ADAAG that requires accessible, type A or type B units for apartments, condos, etc. Now, the Fair-Housing might address this, but since our codes don't cite anything other than ADAAG, and it's not a federal housing project, does that mean no accessibility requirements?

Thanks Mark, I'm aware of the Fair Housing guidelines, but as I stated in the original post, we only adopted ADAAG, not Fair Housing! This is more of a weakness in our code adoption, I guess, than anactual code question. Unless there is a path from ADAAG to FH, then there is a disconnect.

You don't Adopt the Fair Housing guidelines

Fair Housing is the Federal law that covers multihousing.

It is the Law of the Land.

Last edited by a moderator:
Here is your link

http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/about/FAQ.htm