• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Another plea for a major revision in residential codes

No problem....just build them for the strictest code of the jurisdiction you work in....Problem solved.....Or we can keep having crap built in factories by trained monkeys installing violations instead of craftsman in the field with trained inspectors.......

Or we can keep having crap built in factories by trained monkeys installing violations instead of craftsman in the field with trained inspectors.......
Years ago I worked in a factory that table framed apartment buildings that were sent to Chicago. Years later I worked for a company that table framed apartment buildings on site in California. Both operations sped up the process but the factory held first place.

One of the most significant advantages is beating the weather. Raining? no problem. 105°? no problem. Twenty MPH wind? no problem. There is a price to pay for controlling the environment but when I remodeled big box stores, the daily report always said, 72° and sunny.

The shortage of willing entrants to the construction industry might be ameliorated by providing better working conditions. I remember a college study group that was interested in how our ankles held up while we were framing condominiums in Aspen Colorado. There was a day when 150 carpenters were as quiet as a church sermon because it was 110° in Stockton Ca. Now that's losing money fast.