• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Apartment building common dryer exhaust

amarshall

Hello, I am a city mechanical inspector. I received a complaint about an apartment building and had to go through and look at all their in-house lovely work. I went and had a huge list for corrections on the heating and cooling side. The laundry I went through has 4 dryers with the exhaust tied into one 4" hard piped exhaust. I looked in the mechanical code and IMC 504.10. So, if I am understanding it will need an exhaust fan that runs continuous. I would assume would need a common duct of at least 6" but is there some documentation or table to pull that off of?

Can the manufacturer's instructions for the dryers be located? I'm not seeing a sizing table anywhere, but 504.11 (2021 IMC) refers to the duct being "designed". If you could get a CFM for each dryer, maybe you could size the fan and common duct according to that as an objective way to approve or disapprove the design?

504.10 applies to the large commercial type dryers seen in laundromats or hotel linen laundries. If it looks like a dryer you would have in your house (minus the coin slots) its a domestic dryer, not a commercial dryer. A dead giveaway is the size of the exhaust outlet. If it's 4", its 99.9% chance its a domestic dryer. If the duct connection is larger than 4" its a commercial dryer.