• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

B/O won't condemn my apartment

Bender

Hi all, I work as a building inspector in the state of Washington. My B/O will not condemn my apartment and I don't know what to do. My apartment is on the ground floor and sewer started backing up into my tub on Saturday the 13th and has happened 3 times since then. The plumber the apartment complex had out cleared the line and videoed it and found a larger break in the line at the foundation. My complex has not been helpful and doesn't want to pay for a emergency repair. They are saying it will take at least till February 2nd to get it repaired. My complex also wants me to not use the plumbing or water now. My sewer is down stream of three more units and all their **** comes into my apartment. I feel like I'm taking crazy pills, my B/O says it's better than living in a cardboard box and he has no legs to stand on. I know he does in the IBC, UPC,and IPMC. How can I get my director to understand that we have these codes and can inforce them. Please help. Thanks in advance.

I have red tags, as do most inspectors. Do it yourself. I wouldn’t hesitate to red tag the upstream units as well.

I don’t know the rules in Washington state but here I would be protected…. And the BO already didn’t like me.

Last edited:
I do have red tags and the ability to do this. But my BO has never backed up my red tags. I also don't want it to appear that I am using my position of power to influence the outcome in my favor.