• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Corridor versus Exit Passageway

Phil

I was curious what the difference is between a corridor and an exit passageway. The 2012 IBC definitions say a corridor is an exit access while an exit passageway is an exit. But the definitions don't define the difference is between an exit and an exit access. Where does the exit access end and exit begin? I am an engineer and always let the architect worry about means of egress. but, I would like to have a better understanding

The reason I ask is because the live loads for corridors other than the first floor changed in 2012. Except for the first floor, the corridor live load is the same as the occupancy served (except where indicated otherwise). So a corridor for theater (assembly area) or stadium with fixed seating require a 60psf live load. While corridors serving heavy manufacturing or storage warehouses require 250psf. And, all exits require 100 psf.

An exit passageway is dedicated to egress only and to be considered an "exit" by the code, penetrations and HVAC systems should only serve this area. A corridor can use plenum returns and doesn't have to be enclosed to make an "exit passage way".

The exit passageway is basically a hortizontal stairway........with the same limitations as a stairway for use, penetrations, ventilation, and allowable uses.

A very quick an dirty explanation...... Hope this helps.

Very good teaching moment BB

Agree with all

Stairwell laying down

And am I correct once in the exit passageway travel distance goes away?