• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Counterfeit Codes

bill1952

SAWHORSE
I'm guessing I'm not the only one to get an email from ICC about counterfeit codes - hardcopies of ICC codes. Just sort of surprised there's enough profit in it to make it worth while. I also wonder who is buying them. Designers? Code departments?

I'm a long-time professional member of the ICC (as an architect, in addition to my membership as a building official through my work). I have not received any such e-mail either to me as a professional member or at work.

The whole email is to large but here is text. pm me email address and I'll forward.

Counterfeit Code Books

The International Code Council recently uncovered a counterfeit operation producing and distributing unauthorized ICC code books within the United States.

This threatens the integrity of building codes and standards, and we’ve taken steps to protect public safety and retain the public’s confidence in the Code Council as the trusted source of model codes and standards.

The Code Council is pursuing legal actions, including a number of lawsuits in which we seek preliminary injunctions to halt the distribution of counterfeit books.

Temporary restraining orders have already been secured to stop the illegal sale of counterfeit code books. It is critical for the Code Council to pursue action against violators to control the quality of our products so that we can ensure that buildings remain as safe as possible.