• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

drain piping in exterior walls

DWM

i typically try to discourage piping in exterior walls ( per the IL plbg code, energy code & IRC ) recently with certain bldrs it is becomming more common- does anyone else have similar concerns? when it is installed, I push for stack testing (siding nails penetrating the pipe has been an issue) any thoughts? i am new to this type of forum & BB environment

thanx!!

DWM,

Welcome to the forum.

I just make sure they wrap the water lines "individually" with insulation pipe wrap and any p-traps in exterior walls (like for clothes washer drains). But, you have more severe winters than we do in Oklahoma and Texas.

Please stay and become part of the forum.

Durant

where in the irc does it say about prohibiting plumbing in exterior walls ? i've always been of the mind set that "plumbing walls" were built for exterior OR interior plumbing . what do you in commercial construction with sprinkler piping, make them go only to interior as well. doesn't make sense to me. not looking to start a arguement, but please explain your position.

= = =

**DWM**,

Welcome to The Building Codes Forum! :cool:

The bldrs. in your area are going to do whatever they want

to until you apply the codes and various inspections.

Installing the plbg. in the exterior walls in some locations

is not much of a problem, ...in others, because of the

weather it might be more problematic if thermal insulation

is not installed or installed inproperly......Approved type