• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Enforcing Bad Codes

conarb

The Journal of Light Construction has an article about Energy Saving Myths, all things enforced by our Nazi Energy and Green Codes.

Tip 1: Install a programmable thermostat.

Tip 2: Caulk and seal, baby! Caulking windows and weatherstripping is another common energy-saving recommendation. But as a building scientist, I know that window and door leaks aren't nearly as important as air leaks in basements and attics. The big air leaks occur at the home's top and bottom due to stack effect. A more complete explanation is beyond the scope of this article, but basically, wall air leaks don't matter that much without pressure (namely, wind) acting on them. The savings? Not worth the investment of time spent caulking and foaming.

Tip 3: Install new windows.

Tip 4: Get new light bulbs. ¹

We need to get rid of these counterproductive Green and Energy Codes, all they do is line the pockets of the manufacturers who buy them

¹ http://www.jlconline.com/building-performance/why-energy-saving-tips-suck_o.aspx?dfpzone=building.building_science

I think the details matter. Here are my personal experiences.