• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Engineered Designed Foundation for Residential Construction

jod0001

Ok, I am a building inspector and I’m am well aware that the IRC lays out the footing width, depth, # size and amount of rebar that is required for footings/turndowns BUT… I recently had a conversation with my supervisor regarding engineered designed footing/turndowns for residential construction. In the past if a contractor has an engineered design for a portion of the residential footings, let say for sake of discussion it’s a simple single story rectangle house and the foundation plan is stamped by the structural engineer and calls for a footing size of 24” wide, 16” in depth, with 3 # 5s continuous and #4 cross bars every 24” a long the entire length of the right side of the house but for the other 3 side the engineer stated use the IRC for required footing design. As I said in the past I would enforce the engineered design where called out on the foundation plan. I was told by my supervisor that unless the engineer designs the entire foundation plan (all details of the foundation/slab are designed by an engineer that go beyond the IRC requirements) the IRC foundation/slab requirements should be enforced and to not enforce the engineer design. I tried to reason with him stating although it may not be apparent at the moment as to why they used an engineer to design that section of the foundation, they did and when the engineer ran the calculations for whatever came up with this footing design/detail, my supervisor didn’t want to hear tha