• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Fire Separation Distance Definition

cwe05

I am new to the forum and have searched but haven't found a thread or advise on the following issue. I am a contractor building on a single municipal lot the following:

Existing building: S-2 Parking Garage, open or closed, Type IIB construction, 5,258 SF (basically an opened vehicle storage PEMB shed)
New Building: S-1 & B, Type IIB construction, 7,200 SF (PEMB light maintenance shop)
Total Area: 12,458 SF

I can't combine without sprinkling since I'm over 12,000 sf together. I currently have just over 10' between the two structures. There is no lot line, or alley/row between them which leaves me with the third FSD criteria " an imaginary line between the structures".
I am being told that based on this imaginary line I need to rate the wall of the new building to one hour. Is this correct? Can the imaginary line be at the building line of the existing structure or does "between" get interpreted to mean a midpoint dimension? That would require a 20' separation of building lines.
This seems illogical since, if there was a lot line and the existing building were 2-3' off the line and the new building were placed 10' off that lot line the distance would be less than the 20' for the two buildings owned by a single individual. If you have any advise or insight into this it would be greatly appreciated!