• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Fire Station Apparatus Bay Ventilation

Jordan Fish

Hello Everyone - first time poster here. I am a mechanical engineer from Baton Rouge, LA (Geaux Tigers!).

I have recently been reviewing the ventilation requirements for a fire station's apparatus bay. The bay is to be used for storing the vehicles only, i.e. no repair, fueling, etc. I have reviewed the following adopted code versions in my state: NPFA 101-2015, NFPA 88A-2015, IBC-2015, and IMC-2015. The AHJ in my state has also issued an interpretation that extends the Private Garage applicability to up to 3,000 square feet in lieu of the 1,000 square feet stated in the IBC. I have two separate sites I am designing with one of the apparatus bays being 2,000 square feet and the other is 5,000 square feet. Currently, the smaller bay is classified as a Group U occupancy and is being considered a Private Garage. The larger is Group S-2 and is being considered an Enclosed Parking Garage.

The conclusion I get from all of these codes is that some form of continuous ventilation is required in the apparatus bay. Below is what I have found in each code that states a ventilation rate.

NPFA 88A, 6.3.1: All enclosed parking structures shall be ventilated by a mechanical system capable of providing a minimum of 1 CFM/sq. ft. during hours of normal operation.

IMC 2015, Table 403.3.1.1 for Private and Public Garages - 0.75 CFM/sq. ft.