• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

First Hand Fire Experience

Inspector 102

Silver Member
After 28 years as a volunteer firefighter, I had the misfortune of having most of my house and furning destroy by the beast. The area of origin was located on a wood deck outside and points toward an $80.00 home stereo that I would listen too while out there. I awoke at 4 oclock in the morning to a popping noise that I initially thought was someone trying to enter into my house. Image my suprise when I came around the corner and saw my outside deck/pergola starting to roll fire up the wall.

The one and only time I will ever get away with yelling at my wife I told her to wake up grab her phone and get the **** out.

My home was built in 1984 when smoke detectors were only required in the hallway the served the bedroom area. Has I not heard the sounds, by the time the detector would have activated, the outcome might have been a little more exciting. My wife never realized the intencity and speed that this things develope. I have watch the training films for years, but when it start rolling flame across your own living ceiling, it is a total different view.