• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Florida - Wiring in Attic

NewToTile

In my new house attic, I found wiring stapled to studs in a few places, but there are no guard strips. I also found a connection box laying on a joist/truss, dangling from non-metallic cable (Romex). See photo. This attic is not occupied, has no floor and no ceiling, and the only access is a pull-down ladder.

I'm not an electrician, but I thought code required guards for wire crossing joists and prohibited hidden boxes. Are these clear code violations or acceptable practice?

Thank you for your thoughts.

Attachments

• box.jpg
    box.jpg
    752.8 KB · Views: 19
Your profile indicates that you are in Florida. I am in California. Your requirements may be different from mine.
2020 NEC:

334.23 In Accessible Attics. The installation of cable in accessible attics or roof spaces shall also comply with 320.23.

320.23 In Accessible Attics.
Type AC cables in accessible attics or roof spaces shall be installed as specified in 320.23(A) and ( B). (A) Cables Run Across the Top of Floor Joists. Where run across the top of floor joists, or within 2.1 m (7 ft) of the floor or floor joists across the face of rafters or studding, the cable shall be protected by guard strips that are at least as high as the cable. Where this space is not accessible by permanently installed stairs or ladders, protection shall only be required within 1.8 m (6 ft) of the nearest edge of the scuttle hole or attic entrance.

334.30 Securing and Supporting.