• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Going to Florida from another state

twoply

Hello Florida people!

I'm currently a Building inspector, Residential building inspector,Plumbing inspector Interim and Residential Building Official interim in Ohio. I have family in Florida and it might be time to make the move south.

I've seen some postings for openings for inspectors and I'll be looking to transfer. I started researching what tests are going to be required for Florida and it's somewhat confusing. I found this link, http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/servop/testing/documents/builcib.pdf but I'm still unclear about what test to schedule.

Can anyone shed some light the licenses for me? I was looking to come in as a Construction Inspector in a larger size city.

Thanks in advance.

Best advice would be to call the board directly. That way you get it from the horse.

I know on the fire side Florida does not play well with others.

Building ::

License Information

License Categories:

(3 types of licenses Standard, Limited and Provisional can be obtained in the following categories):

Building Code Administrator

Building Code Inspector

Plans Examiner

Methods of Licensure:

By Endorsement - Yes

By Examination - Yes

By Reciprocity - No

Business Entity - No

No reciprocity !!!!

http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/pro/build/

https://www.myfloridalicense.com/CheckListDetail.asp?SID=&xactCode=1010&clientCode=5001&XACT_DEFN_ID=4083

:::,

Last edited by a moderator: