• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Green is Profitable

Uncle Bob

The old "brick in the toilet tank" trick. Kimberly-Clark will make a lot of money on this piece of crap;

http://agreenzone.com/kimberly-clark-gives-away-plastic-toilet-tank-inserts-as-product-promotion/

I remember when folks used to put a brick in the toilet tank and; when it didn't flush properly would call me out (I was a Plumber) and ask me to fix the toilet. I would take the brick out; the toilet would flush correctly; and hand them a bill for a service call. Those were the good old days.

The Green movement is only good for making money; but, it is great at that.

Uncle Bob

Last edited by a moderator:
When you flush twice to make the toilet work don't you use more water?

Although, the big flush/little flush toilets seem like a good idea to me (#1 and #2 require different flush quantities).

Paul:

As I said in the female urinal thread a church ADA project I did had a "Flush three times" sign in the ladies room, at the same time I put a master bath addition on a home with a new Toto water saving toilet, I was sending roto rooter back so many times that I finally met the guy and asked him where he was encountering the obstruction in the sewer, he told me there was no obstruction, that he was finding nothing up but toilet paper. The woman blamed her husband for using lots of toilet paper, since we had a shower just downstream form the toilet I told her to tell him to turn on the shower for several minutes after using the toilet to flush the toilet paper through.