• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Greetings from Washington State

imhotep

Silver Member
Hello to all.

I appreciate the opportunity to join this community. We are an IBC state with Statewide Amendments. I practice in a 20 man architectural firm in Olympia, Washington. I am a senior project manager (26+ years experience), but not licensed. I have been on both sides of the counter and have a particular interest in the role of police powers (codes and relevant laws, ordinances, rules and regulations) in the building industry.

I first started lurking on the ICC forums back in the day and understand that this forum came into being when the powers that be decided to improve the ICC's web site, but sorta forgot about how those changes might impact the open discussion forums on their site. Be that as it may I value the thought provoking discussions found here.

One of my roles in our firm is to beat into the heads of the RDP's that besides clients and contractors there are code officials who have a seat at 'our' table. That the documents we produce are no longer solely intended to describe the bounds of a construction contract and to build, but rather (and some would say more importantly) are intended to show in detail that the design will conform to the provisions of the code and relevant laws, ordinances, rules and regulations, as determined by the building official. (Funny that - where do I get his/her handbook and commentary).