• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

GSA & Third Party Inspections

Alias

Anybody here have any experience with GSA and their inspection policies?

Commercial building and we're being told GSA will be inspecting all the way through. Unable to contact GSA to verify. (see http://www.inspectpa.com/forum/showthread.php?7430-Commercial-Plans-for-Metal-Building-USFS-USDA)

Owner is insisting that GSA will be here inspecting continuously. I have no experience with GSA hence the question. Their engineers will be providing third party inspections as needed and I'm okay with that.

Just trying to separate what is reality and what isn't.

Thanks,

It depends upon the size of the project. Large projects may have a contract with inspectors to be onsite at all times. Other projects may have inspectors there as needed only. It will vary from project to project.

It depends on what GSA is providing for inspections. I have done inspections for GSA in the past and the ones I do are not continous in terms of being on the site for an extended period of time. I show up when needed and my inspection only takes a few minutes.

They are usually periodic inspections at best, I did a Social Security office years ago, and the GSA guy showed up maybe once a week....around here, it certainly does not relieve us from any of our inspections....