• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Help Determining Occupancy Type

DenNative77

Needing help determining an occupancy type in Colorado.

I have a 1560 sf. ft. tenant space that will be used as a DIY crafting space - mobile tables and stools will be used in 1200 sq. ft of the space, about 75 sq. ft of space are restrooms, with the remaining space to be used as storage. Client assures me there will never be more than 49 in the space.

I'm not sure if this should classify as Assembly (A-3) or Business (B) with Storage (S-1) in either one?

This is my first time having to deal with Occupancy loads, so please bear with me! :) Thank you in advance for your help!

I would say "B"

304.1 Business Group B

Business Group B occupancy includes, among others, the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, for office, professional or service-type transactions, including storage of records and accounts. Business occupancies shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

Training and skill development not in a school or academic program (this shall include, but not be limited to, tutoring centers, martial arts studios, gymnastics and similar uses regardless of the ages served, and where not classified as a Group A occupancy).

Educational occupancies for students above the 12th grade

Is there a rear door anyway, that does not need access through the storage?

Thank you, CDA! The snow is great this year! :)