• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

inspection record/written correction notice

codeworks

Gold Member
what do you all use for inspection reports. we're using.... 2 sheets w/ carbon paper. i'm an inspector, not a policy maker, but there has to be a better way, more efficient, less"cumbersome"

Works for me, ours are fill in the top, where you are at , why

And than lines to write violations

Some do it on computer and either email to business or print it once back to office and mail or deliver

So what are the concerns with the paper form

For construction I use a two page NCR form, top copy stays on the job and the other for our file.

For existing buildings just a 'fieldsheet' which I use to complete a computer program report and invoice. (the fee is 1.5 cents per square foot)

carbon copy form here too...one stays on job site, one goes back to office until reinspection is scheduled. seems to work okay. we tried to do an automated excel/pdf form for our tough books, but that didn't work too well. in the vehicle printers we bought use that paper that fades in sunlight. that was a fail.

system works okay and most of us fill the top parts out before we leave the office in the morning, so not too much of a hassle. if we run out of room, we either use another form and write continued, or write a comment about how inspections are not to be used as a punch list and re-inspection fees will be assessed.