• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Is a Parapet required due to Section 507.5 Reduced Open Space

Mike McAndrew

I'm an architect and have always designed 30" tall parapets of 3-hr construction on walls facing Reduced Open Space as described in 507.5. I have been asked by a contractor to review this as other architects do not provide the same. Any insight would be appreciated.

Section 507.5 - Reduced Open Space essentially states that you can have a building of unlimited size with public ways/yards being reduced to as little as 40'. In doing so, the wall has to be 3-hr rated as do all openings in the wall.

Section 705.11 requires Parapets on walls of buildings unless ANY ONE of the exceptions apply.

Exception 1 states "The wall is not required to be fire-resistance rated in accordance with Table 602 because of fire separation distance." We meet that exception as table 602 stops requiring fire resistance in all cases at 30'. We are 40'. Therefore we should not have to provide a parapet.

Problem is...This is a tilt-up warehouse building and I am providing a parapet. Once I provide a parapet, I believe I fall under the following section:

Section 705.11.1 - Parapet Construction - "Parapets shall have the same fire-resistance rating as that required for the supporting wall...The height of the parapet shall not be less than 30"..."

So...Any thoughts from the collective brain trust here? Is the parapet I'm providing required to be rated and 30" minimum?

Welcome

How did you find us?

Just wait around and you will get some great answers