• Welcome to the new and improved Building Code Forum. We appreciate you being here and hope that you are getting the information that you need concerning all codes of the building trades. This is a free forum to the public due to the generosity of the Sawhorses, Corporate Supporters and Supporters who have upgraded their accounts. If you would like to have improved access to the forum please upgrade to Sawhorse by first logging in then clicking here: Upgrades

Learning Residential Building Code

MarcusGeiser

Bronze Member
I have the 2009 IBC Code Book. Other than reading the whole thing and studying it how can I learn the codes. Are there study guides by trade I can use to focus on one thing at a time? How have you guys acquired the knowledge you possess? I understand experience will be the greatest teacher but I want to accelerate the learning curve.

I mainly specialize in residential remodeling. Would the best approach be to take a project by project approach? Furnace, water heaters, roofing, electric service?

Would downloading manufacturers specifications and studying them for installation procedures be good. I know that Certainteed has books that are excellent.

Marcus,

Throw out that IBC and go buy a 2009 IRC which is residential. Can you give us a little more info. Do you want to become an inspector or are you trying to produce a better contracting business or what? Obviously the best way to learn a trade is by doing it in the field. If you work with good people who do it right they will teach you good habits. Be a sponge and soak up as much as possible. Some jurisdictions will allow you to do occasional ride alongs with inspectors. If you are friendly they might help you out. Give us some more info on what you are trying to accomplish and people will help.